Assam Athletes in Commonwealth Games (CWG) 2022/Two Thousand Twenty Two

As many as seven gamers from Assam will take part withinside the Commonwealth Games 2022 that is prepared to kick begin on Thursday. The video games will witness participation from seventy two countries, presenting greater than 4500 gamers competing with every different for a podium finish. 7 gamers from Assam together with Lovlina Borgohain, Hima Das, Shiv Thapa, Popi Hazarika, Tania Chowdhury, Nayanmani Saikia, and Mridul Borgohain may also take part withinside the video games.


Know More About the Players of Assam

Lovlina Borgohain

Lovlina Borgohain changed into born withinside the Golaghat district of Assam on October 2, 1997. Her father Tiken Borgohain is a small-scale businessman and had monetary struggles to assist his daughter’s ambition even as her mom is a housemaker.

Following the footsteps of her dual sisters Licha and Lima, she first took up Muay Thai, a shape of kickboxing on the age of 13. She later shifted to boxing. Having located her love in boxing, Lovlina changed into continually looking for an opportunity. And it got here inside some months. SAI changed into conserving the pains at Barpathar Girls High School, in which she studied, and Lovlina confirmed her talents while she took element withinside the trials.

That’s how Boro observed her remarkable expertise and commenced honing it in 2012. She changed into later coached with the aid of using India’s leader women’s boxing instruct Shiv Singh. In her adventure to attain the pinnacle, she battled society which used to impeach her hobby in Boxing being a female. Speaking approximately achievements, she received a Bronze medal on the 2018 and 2019 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships in which represented India for the primary time. In 2018, she received a gold medal on the 1st India Open International Boxing Tournament held in New Delhi.

She has additionally received a Silver medal on the 2d India Open International Boxing Tournament held in Guwahati. In 2020, she changed into provided the Arjuna Award with the aid of using President Ram Nath Kovind surely for her terrific overall performance in boxing. After qualifying for Tokyo Olympics 2020, she have become the primary girl withinside the records of Assam to qualify for the Olympics. The authorities additionally supported her in distinct fields like customized education camp in Guwahati publish her recuperation from Covid 19, procurement of consumable equipment, clinical charges and medical doctor session even as she examined effective for Covid 19, and education camp at Assisi, Italy earlier than Olympics.

The authorities invested round Rs 18,30,515 for Lovlina’s education. Hima Das Hima Das (born nine January 2000), nicknamed Dhing Express, is an Indian sprinter from the country of Assam. She holds the modern-day Indian country wide report in four hundred meters with a timing of 50.seventy nine s that she clocked on the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia.

She is the primary Indian athlete to win a gold medal in a tune occasion on the IAAF World U20 Championships. She changed into appointed as a Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) in Assam Police beneathneath the country’s Integrated Sport Policy. Shiva Thapa Shiva Thapa (born eight December 1993) is an Indian boxer. He is hired with Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd.

He is supported with the aid of using Olympic Gold Quest and Anglian Medal Hunt Company, Shiva Thapa participated withinside the 2012 London Olympics, and changed into the youngest Indian boxer to qualify for the Olympics. Shiva Thapa is ranked third withinside the bantamweight class withinside the AIBA Men’s World Ranking. He is the 1/3 Indian to clinch gold on the Asian Games.

Shiva Thapa is the 1/3 Indian boxer to win a medal on the AIBA World Boxing Championships. He is now an Account Manager with Midland Credit management. Thapa has been elected as a member of the International Boxing Association (amateur) Athletes Committee.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button